Flag and historic town of Perast at Bay of Kotor in summer, Montenegro

Montenegro becomes 28th member

Montenegro has become the 28th member of the European Social Survey European Research Infrastructure Consortium (ESS ERIC).

An application submitted by the Montenegrin Ministry of Science and Technological Development was accepted by the European Social Survey (ESS) General Assembly in Brussels last week.

The ESS now has 28 member countries - the highest of any European Research Infrastructure Consortium (ERIC) across all scientific disciplines.

This also means that 31 countries have confirmed their involvement in Round 11 (2023/24) of our survey. 

Since we became an ERIC in 2013, participating countries are designated as Members, Observers or Guests.

Member countries are committed to two consecutive rounds of the survey, with full voting rights on the ESS ERIC General Assembly.

Observer countries commit to participation in two consecutive rounds but have no voting rights.

Countries with Guest status are committed to one round with no voting rights.

Montenegro took part in the Round 9 (2018/19) for the first time, and participated again as a Guest country in Round 10 (2020-22).


  • Austria (Federal Ministry of Science and Research)
  • Belgium (Flemish Department of Economy, Science and Innovation and Federation Wallonia-Brussels)
  • Bulgaria (Ministry of Education and Science)
  • Croatia (Ministry of Science and Education)
  • Cyprus (Directorate General for European Programmes, Coordination and Development)
  • Czechia (Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports)
  • Estonia (Ministry of Social Affairs)
  • Finland (Ministry of Education and Culture)
  • France (Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation)
  • Germany (Federal Ministry of Education and Research)
  • Hungary (National Research, Development and Innovation Office)
  • Iceland (Ministry of Education, Science and Culture)
  • Ireland (Irish Research Council)
  • Israel (Ministry of Science and Technology)
  • Italy (National Institute for Public Policy Analysis)
  • Latvia (Ministry of Education and Science)
  • Lithuania (Ministry of Education and Science)
  • Montenegro (Ministry of Science and Technological Development)
  • Netherlands (Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research)
  • Norway (Ministry of Education and Research)
  • Poland (Ministry of Education and Science)
  • Portugal (Foundation for Science and Technology)
  • Serbia (Ministry of Education, Science and Technological Development)
  • Slovak Republic (Ministry of Education, Science, Research and Sport)
  • Slovenia (Ministry of Education, Science and Sport)
  • Spain (Ministry of Science and Innovation)
  • Sweden (Ministry of Education, represented by the Swedish Research Council)
  • United Kingdom (Economic and Social Research Council)


  • Switzerland (FORS - Swiss Foundation for Research in Social Sciences)

Confirmed Round 11 Guests:

  • Greece (National Centre for Social research)
  • Ukraine (ESS ERIC General Assembly)
Icon of two people sitting at desks communicating via digital devices.

Media enquiries

Stefan Swift
T: +44 (0)207 0404907