New experts appointed to advisory boards


The General Assembly of the European Social Survey (ESS) has appointed seven new members to serve on their methods and scientific advisory boards.

Four new senior social scientists have been appointed to serve on the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB), to advise on survey matters of major or practical importance.

The new members are: Dana Hamplová (Czech Academy of Sciences), Karsten Hank (University of Cologne), Carolin Rapp (University of Copenhagen) and Tom Smith (University of Chicago).

These new recruits join four other members to bring a wide range of expertise to the SAB, and will serve for a four-year term, culminating in 2023.

The first task for the new SAB members will be to help choose which questions will be included in Round 11 (2022/23) of our survey.

In each round of the ESS, researchers are invited to include around 30 questions on a single topic or policy concern - the deadline for Stage 1 applications is 17 January 2020.

The SAB will ultimately choose which proposals are successful following this open competition, and will work with the researchers to develop the questions.

Three new experts have been selected to serve the Methods Advisory Board (MAB), which advises the ESS on technical and methodological aspects of the survey.

The new members of the MAB - formally appointed in October - are Michael Bosnjak (Leibniz Institute for Psychology), Johan Martinsson (University of Gothenburg) and Caroline Roberts (FORS - Swiss Centre of Expertise in the Social Sciences).

The MAB was involved in the design of the core questionnaire consultation with ESS data users and was integral in the implementation of a fieldwork management system during survey data collection.

Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

Methods Advisory Board (MAB)

By continuing to visit our site, you accept the use of cookies. We use cookies for website functionality
and analyzing site usage through anonymized Google Analytics tracking. [Read more]