All participating countries are required to contribute to the central coordination costs, composed of a basic membership fee and an additional amount, calculated according to the GDP of each country. In addition, each country covers the cost of fieldwork and national coordination.

Prior to the award of ERIC status, the ESS was funded on a round-by-round basis. The central coordination and design was funded through the European Commission, the European Science Foundation (ESF) and national funding councils.

The Statutes of the ESS ERIC provide comprehensive details of the funding arrangements.

Active Horizon 2020 projects

Pilot Application in Urban Landscapes - towards integrated city observatories for greenhouse gases (PAUL)

The ESS is a partner in this Horizon 2020 project that aims to develop a systematic greenhouse gas measurement system for urban areas. Coordinated by ICOS - Integrated Carbon Observation System, it will bring together and evaluate the most innovative measurement approaches of greenhouse gas emissions in urban areas and will develop useful tools and services for cities to support their local climate action plans. ESS ERIC is the only social survey research project involved in the PAUL project, as part of a consortium of 31 partners from a range of scientific disciplines. The ESS ERIC will lead Task 1.3: The human dimension of climate policies: economic and behavioural impacts. The project will run until 30 September 2025.

Next Steps in Securing the Sustainability of the European Social Survey (ESS-SUSTAIN-2)

Following the success of implementing ESS-SUSTAIN (grant agreement number 871063), ESS-SUSTAIN-2 began in January 2020 and was expected to run for three years, until December 2022. Following successful applications by the European Social Survey ERIC for an extension to the project, ESS-SUSTAIN will now run until 31 March 2024.

The €4.9m project is being coordinated by the ESS and includes 16 other partners based across Europe. These are CentERdata (The Netherlands); Hungarian Academy of Sciences (Hungary); Institute for Advance Studies (IHS) (Austria); Institute of Social Sciences (Serbia); Institute of Sociology of the Academy of Sciences (Czechia); Catholic University of Leuven (KU Leuven) (Belgium); NatCen Social Research (United Kingdom); National Institute for Public Policy Analysis (INAPP) (Italy); Sciences Po (France); Tilburg University (The Netherlands); Umeå University (Sweden); University of Belgrade (Serbia); University of Iceland (Iceland); University of Lisbon (Portugal); University of Milan (Italy); and University of Turku (Finland).

More information on SUSTAIN 2