4th International ESS Conference

Turbulent times in Europe:
Instability, insecurity and inequality

15-17 April 2019

University of Mannheim, Mannheim, Germany

Jowell-Kaase Early Career Researcher Prize 2019

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) of the European Social Survey (ESS) ERIC will be awarding the Jowell-Kaase Early Career Researcher Prize 2019 during the conference. The prize - named after Professor Sir Roger Jowell and Professor Max Kaase, the founders of the ESS - will recognise excellence in the field of comparative social research by a promising new researcher from any social research discipline. The prize was established in 2016 and is being awarded for only the second time. The winner will be announced prior to the conference and will be invited to give a keynote-type talk at the conference. The winner of the prize also receives an award of €1,000 funded by the ESS ERIC.

Criteria for the Prize

The Jowell-Kaase Prize is given to an early career researcher from any field of social science whose extraordinary early achievements have already made a significant impact on the field. Their research must have addressed one of the substantive topics covered by the ESS from a comparative perspective, either cross-nationally and/or across different ESS rounds. The winner will have made use of the ESS data in their research and published their research in international peer-reviewed journals or in books published by reputable academic publishers. It is expected that their research has contributed to our understanding of European societies and provided a clear presentation of interesting and timely research questions informed by relevant and high quality empirical analysis

Eligibility Criteria

The competition is open to researchers who are within eight years of the award of their PhD at the time of the 4th International ESS Conference in April 2019, excluding any period of career break, e.g., for family care, health reasons or military service. Nominations can be made by individuals or institutions, candidates may nominate themselves.

Prize Committee

A Prize Committee appointed by the SAB of the ESS ERIC, in collaboration with the organisers of the 4th International ESS Conference and in consultation with Professor Max Kaase, will review all nominations for the Jowell-Kaase Early Career Researcher Prize 2019 and will decide on a winner. Professor Terje Andreas Eikemo, Professor Christian Staerkl, and Professor Anu Realo (Chair) will act as members of the Prize Committee on behalf of the SAB of the ESS ERIC. Members of the Prize Committee also include Professor Michael Breen (Chair of the ESS ERIC General Assembly) and Dr Oshrat Hochman in her capacity as organiser of the 4th International ESS Conference.