Research Ethics

In accordance with the ESS ERIC Statutes (Article 23.3), the ESS ERIC subscribes to the Declaration on Professional Ethics of the International Statistical Institute.

The ESS ERIC Research Ethics Committee (REC) was established in 2015 and is chaired by Professor Lars Lyberg, Statistics Sweden (Chair of the Methods Advisory Board). Members include Professor Annelies Blom (University of Mannheim, Germany) and Professor Gordon Wills (National Institutes of Health, US).

The Research Ethics Committee reviews applications for studies for which the ESS ERIC is directly responsible, that is, which it directly contracts.

If you have any problems, concerns or questions about an ESS ERIC study, please contact the Secretary to the ESS ERIC Research Ethics Committee (